Hannah Darlington named in Australian touring squad

Former Westfields Sports student named in Australian squad

All-rounder Hannah Darlington was this week added to the Australian squad for the limited overs tour of New Zealand kicking off next month.

The former Westfields Sports School student, who plays for the Sydney Thunder in the BBL, has had a meteoric rise in the past few years and gets her debut Australian call-up at age 20.

Australia will play three T20s and three One Day International matches across the ditch from March 28.

The Australia men's T20 squad is currently in the Land of the Long White Cloud for a five-match series, losing the first on Monday.

Darlington isn't the only member of the women's squad with a Macarthur connection - former Ghost Belinda Vakarewa is also in the line-up.

The full team is:

  • Meg Lanning (captain)
  • Rachael Haynes (vice captain)
  • Darcie Brown
  • Nicola Carey
  • Hannah Darlington
  • Ash Gardner
  • Alyssa Healy
  • Jess Jonassen
  • Tahlia McGrath
  • Sophie Molineux
  • Beth Mooney
  • Ellyse Perry
  • Megan Schutt
  • Annabel Sutherland
  • Belinda Vakarewa
  • Tayla Vlaeminck
  • Georgia Wareham

National selector Shawn Flegler said a great squad had been assembled.

"We're excited to announce this 17-player squad for the Commonwealth Bank Tour of New Zealand after a long break from national commitments for our playing group," he said.

"Since the completion of our home series against New Zealand in October, the players have completed a full rebel WBBL|06 campaign, followed by a period of rest and recovery before reconvening for the beginning of the WNCL campaign.

"Throughout that period the likes of Darcie Brown and Hannah Darlington have impressed us with their skill and professionalism, and we are delighted to reward them with selection in this squad.

"We welcome Hannah Darlington into the squad after playing a crucial part in the Sydney Thunder's rebel WBBL|06 championship. She has been brought into the squad primarily with a T20 focus as we look towards both the 2022 Commonwealth Games in Birmingham and 2023 ICC Women's T20 World Cup in South Africa."

Former Australian test quick Ryan Harris has been appointed the bowling coach of the squad.