St Johns Park Bowling Club to host best of the best

Australian hopes at the World Singles Champion of Champions rest with Colleen Orr and Lee Schraner.
Australian hopes at the World Singles Champion of Champions rest with Colleen Orr and Lee Schraner.

St Johns Park Bowling Club chief executive David Marsh said they were “extremely proud” to host their second straight World Singles Champion of Champions starting on October 29.

The men’s and women’s world singles champions will be crowned at the week-long event which will pit players who have won their respective national titles against each other.

“It’s very exciting to have enthusiastic players from around the world competing on our greens, in what promises to be a memorable celebration of the friendships, fun and sportsmanship the game of lawn bowls brings to us,” Mr Marsh said.

An elite field of 54 players (28 men and 26 women) from 32 countries will compete at the 16th installment of the event which was first conducted in Australia at Moama in 2003.

Qualifying rounds will be held over the first five days, with the semi- finals scheduled for November 3 and finals on November 4. 

New Zealanders Jo Edwards and Shannon McIlroy.

New Zealanders Jo Edwards and Shannon McIlroy.

New Zealand pair Jo Edwards (the reigning and dual Commonwealth Games singles gold medallist) and Shannon McIlroy (reigning world bowls singles champion) will start favourites for the competition.

But there will be plenty of players looking to stop the “black wash” including Ireland’s Mark Wilson, Americans Charlie Herbert and Anne Nunes, South African champion Wayne Rittmuller, Norfolk Island’s Carmen Anderson, Kirsty Richards from England and Judith Wason from Wales.

Australia will be represented by Colleen Orr, the first Northern Territorian to challenge for a world title, and Lee Schraner from Tasmania who will start as one of the favourites in the men’s competition.

16th World Singles Champion of Champions

Men: (Section 1): Ralph Goodlife (Argentina), Jerome Kirby (Canada), Surend Prasad (Fiji), Todd Priaulx (Guernsey), Tony Cheung (Hong Kong China), Mark Wilson (Ireland), Clive McGreal (Isle of Man), Noam Yehudai (Israel), Hank Satoh (Japan), Will Esterhuizen (Namibia), Shannon McIlroy (New Zealand), Wattana Kadkhunthod (Thailand), Ozkan Akar (Turkey).

Men (Section 2): Aaron Chilundo (Zimbabwe), Teddy Evans (Norfolk Island), Charlie Herbert (USA), Roger Jones (Wales), Su Hong Lam (Macao China), Joseph Nthobelang (Botswana), Zoltan Pavelka (Hungary), Zulhilmie Redzuan (Malaysia), Martyn Rice (Scotland), Kevin Riddiford (Zambia), Wayne Rittmuller (Sth Africa), Brian Robertson (Spain), Avala Savanlinaea (Samoa), Lee Schraner (Australia), Thomas Schneiter (Switzerland).

Women (Section 1): Alicia Olaverria (Argentina), Colleen Orr (Australia), Deliwe Kitsiso (Botswana), Mary Wright (Canada), Kirsty Richards (England), Shirley Ko (Hong Kong China), Jean Holmes (Jersey), Jo Edwards MNZM (New Zealand), Dee Hoggan (Scotland), Tammy Tham (Singapore), Leone Du Rand (South Africa), Rahsan Akar (Turkey).

Women (Section 2): Carmen Anderson OAM (Norfolk Island), Hazel Bagshaw (Cyprus), Sue Bryant (Thailand), Hilda Fong (Macao China), Ruthy Gilor (Israel),  Ursula Gripper (Zimbabwe), Nurul Alyani Jamil (Malaysia), Caroline Lehmann (Switzerland), Anne Nunes (USA),  Janice Pilling (Isle of Man), Litia Tikoisuva (Fiji), Marietjie van den Bergh (Namibia),  Judith Wason (Wales), Alicia Weir (Ireland).