Futsal Institute shine at National Club Futsal Championships

Winners: The under-9s NSW metro team.
Winners: The under-9s NSW metro team.

It may still be January, but you will be hard pressed finding a more dominant sporting display in 2018 than the NSW Metro under-9 futsal team.

The team made up of players from the Futsal Institute at Wetherill Park dominated the recent National Club Futsal Championships at Hawkesbury Indoor Stadium to win their division without losing a game.

In their six round games they racked up 80 goals and conceded only 10 which included wins against Far NNSW Manning 9s (17-1), Victoria Country White 9s (19-1), NNSW Country 9s (15-2) and Qld City Maroon 9s (12-1).

They continued their impressive form in the finals with dominant displays against NSW Metro White 9s (6-0) in the quarter finals, NNSW Country 9s (7-2) in the semi finals and Victoria City 9s (6-1) in the grand final.

It took their average score for the three-day tournament to 11 to 1.4 – or in other words: a futsal masterclass.

Their dominance was rewarded with Joesph Banza (grand final MVP) and Thomas Cutuk (All Star) receiving individual accolades.

It wasn’t the only success for the Futsal Institute who played under the NSW Metro banner at the Championships. 

The under-13 and under-15 NSW Metro girls also took out their respective divisions.

The under-13s team lost only one game on their way to the title defeating NSW Metro White 2-0 in an all Futsal Institute final at Penrith Regional Valley Sports Complex.

Lucca Taylor won the golden boot award while Taylor Brooks was named grand final MVP. Avaani Prakash and Leah Deoliveria were named All Stars along with Jessica Hall (NSW Metro White).

Meanwhile the under-15s had to survive a penalty shootout win against Victoria in the semi final on their way to grand final success against West Coast 4-0.

The team went undefeated in the tournament winning eight and drawing one game to finish first. 

Claire Holder (10 goals) was the equal golden boot winner while Olivia Schembri was named grand final MVP. Both girls were named in the All Star team.