Westfields Sports lose GIO Schoolboy Cup final to Keebra Park

2017 GIO Schoolboy Cup champions: Keebra Park State High School
2017 GIO Schoolboy Cup champions: Keebra Park State High School

Westfields Sports High School’s dream of consecutive national titles was shattered by Keebra Park State High School who were crowned kings of schoolboy footy with a 25-12 win at Leichhardt Oval on Wednesday.

In a replay of last year’s decider, the perennial Queensland powerhouse based their third national title on their defence with Westfields unable to convert several promising chances.

The Fairfield West school carried the confidence of last week’s win against Hills Sports to set up an early 12-6 lead with tries to Joel Saldaneri and Jake Alvrillo.

However the game turned when Westfields couldn’t crack the Keebra Park line again after dominating possession for most of the first half.

A try to Keebra Park’s Ioane Seiuli right on half time fueled a dominant second half led by man of the match David Fifita who caused havoc on the edges against a tired Westfields team who were feeling the effects of playing consecutive weeks.

Westfields continued to press the Keebra line in the second half in the hope of repeating last year’s heroics where they scored two tries in the final four minutes to defeat the perennial Queensland powerhouse.

But Tanah Boyd sealed the result with a field goal five monutes from time.

It was Keebra Park’s third national title after wins in 2013 and 2015.

Fifita was named the 2017 Peter Sterling Medalist at a post-game function held on the roof top at Rugby League Central for both schools.

The road to the final

  • Game 1: def Vic Uni Sec College 44-10
  • Game 2: def Illawarra SHS (forfeit)
  • Game 3: def Hallam College 12-10
  • Quarter final: def Patrician Brothers’ College, Blacktown 26-18
  • Semi final: def Endeavour Sports High School 33-10
  • Conference final: def Hills Sports High School 20-14