Parramatta basketballers head to Canberra Classic

Two senior teams from the Parramatta Basketball Association head south this weekend to compete in the Annual Canberra Classic, which will be held jointly at the Belconnen Basketball Stadium and the Australian Institute of Sport from January 25 to 27.

The classic traditionally hosts teams from the Waratah Championship League, along with the Australian Under 20 and the Canberra Under 18 representative teams.

Parramatta's two teams are very familiar to Wildcats fans, with only one or two new faces in each squad.

State League point/shooting guard John Chaumont has been promoted to the senior team, former Wildcats players Sammy Tsegay, Kristian Blaszczynski and Stephen Rafty all return to Parramatta for 2013 and man-mountain Richard Clark has joined the Wildcats from the Hills District Hornets.

There are also a couple of players returning to Parramatta in the women's squad, being Jane Warren and Tegan Murray, whilst sweet-shooting guard Juanita Chan is a new face in the program.

The Wildcats men's team for Canberra is John Chaumont, Goran Veg, Jed Atherton, Jamie Newth, Daniel Briggs, Daniel Moser, Adi Causevic, Sammy Tsegay and Stephen Rafty - Sam Gyimah, Kristian Blaszczynski and Richard Clark are both not available for the trip.

Goran Veg

Goran Veg


Discuss "Parramatta basketballers head to Canberra Classic"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.