Eels name Cronin Champion of Parramatta

The Dyldam Parramatta Eels are proud to announce Michael Cronin OAM has been elevated into the new status as the inaugural Champion of Parramatta, with Nathan Cayless also inducted as a Hall of Fame Legend at tonight’s Gala Dinner.

Michael Cronin becomes the first ever Champion of Parramatta after being voted by a selected panel of experts, his peers in the Hall of Fame and the Eels’ Members and supporters. 

Cayless, who captained the Eels for a decade before his retirement in 2010, has also joined the Blue and Gold elite as the 2014 Hall of Fame Legend.

The Eels also proud to announce a Special Inductee into the Hall of Fame, with the club’s first president, the late Jack Argent, being brought into the esteemed ranks. 

“It’s a great honour to be able to name Michael Cronin as the first Champion of Parramatta, having been a coach, player and a hard-working clubman who has dedicated so much time and service to our club,” Eels CEO Scott Seward said. 

“It’s also a privilege to see Nathan Cayless added to our Hall of Fame Legends; as an international who captained our club for a decade and helped take the side to two grand finals, he’s a very worthy inductee.”

Sydney’s glamorous The Star Event Centre hosted the event, which was attended by the Eels NRL squad, past players and legends and other VIPs. 

The night also coincided with the launch of The Premiership Club; aimed at establishing a high-level Parramatta Eels supporters group, and also a Community and Education Foundation. 

With Bill Moss AM as its inaugural Chairman, The Premiership Club is fully endorsed by the Eels, and will play a part in supporting the club’s key strategic community initiatives. 

This story Eels name Cronin Champion of Parramatta first appeared on Parramatta Sun.


Discuss "Eels name Cronin Champion of Parramatta"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.